Back to My ROOTS

Hello again hungry humans of the Internet!! Happy Easter He is Risen!!!! This past Friday, I drove home to New Jersey to celebrate Easter and my grandma’s birthday with my family. It was so nice sleeping in my own bed and having everyone together again. I stayed until Monday, when I drove myself back to Newark and all I could think about the whole time was getting ROOTS! If you are not familiar with Roots Natural Kitchen, it is a smaller chain restaurant that prides itself in natural nutrient dense ingredients. Roots offers salads and bowls (like Chipotle) with a wide variety of toppings, dressings, and off the grill items. The full menu is below.

Additionally Roots created their own signature salads and bowls that have won the hearts of Newark residents. Almost every day at dinner time the line for Roots is out the door. These signature bowls are below.

This morning I decided to get one of my favorite signatures with a little twist. I got the Pesto Caesar salad featured below that contains a kale base, a bulgur secondary base, grape tomatoes, lime-pickled onions, shaved Parmesan, pita chips, the best Caesar dressing ever mixed with pesto dressing and chicken from the grill, Additionally, I removed the bulgur because sometimes it is too filling, removed the Parmesan because I am trying to eat less dairy, and added my favorite veggie, cucumber, for crunch. I also got it with the works, a recommended addition by the Roots staff to add flavor. The works for the Pesto Caesar is a dash of sriracha. I would 10/10 recommend this bowl and Roots in general. It fills me up, is a good price of $9 for a healthy, fresh salad, and tastes absolutely delicious.

pictures found at
http://www.rootsnaturalkitchen.com/address/newark-delaware/

Well, until next time friends! I hope you have a great week of eating and don’t forget to check up on your loved ones!

my roots

Song of the Day!

Leave a comment